Firstly I would like to say welcome & thanks for stopping by. I hope you find it interesting enough to return again.
Now for a little about me.... I am a mum of 2 wonderful kids and it is because of them that I started baking. When my eldest was little I went looking for his first birthday cake and was disappointed with the results of my efforts. All I could find was either mass produced products, which I try to avoid or overly expensive boutique cakes, which while beautiful were much too fancy for my small family gathering for a 1 year old.

So that got me thinking that I might be able to make one myself…..it couldn’t be that hard could it? The resulting cake is not what I would call pretty tasted great & was well received by everyone.

I am almost ashamed to admit that I made it the way I guess most busy mums do, with packet mix & ready made decorations, but it was enough to give me the baking bug. It didn’t take long for me to start practicing with different flavours & ingredients to make them from scratch & do away with the packets all together.

From then on I never looked back, the more I baked the more I wanted to learn. I started experimenting with fondant & making my own decorations and word soon got out that my cakes were delicious.  Friends of friends started calling asking me to make them cakes and thus Stanford cakes was born...

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Hi, My name is Meg & I own & operate Stanford Cakes On the lovely Central Coast of NSW. I have never written a blog before so please bear with me as I find my feet.

    Archives

    May 2012

    Categories

    All
    General